4th International Symposium on Physics of Membrane Processes – PMP 2021

29-30 September 2021 (Online)

Online event organized by

Due to the uncertainties related to international traveling and the COVID-19 pandemic, we have decided to switch the PMP 2021 workshop to an online event. Participation is free-of-charge

The focus of this workshop is presenting novel theoretical approaches to model membrane processes. We aim to discuss theoretical approaches that focus on microscopic, mesoscopic and macroscopic levels, modeling the membrane-solution interface, the membrane structure, and transport phenomena.

This symposium is driven by a renewed interest in the physics-based modeling of membrane processes, and the need for understanding the laws that all these membrane processes have in common at the fundamental level. Different scales of microscopic models, empirical models and phenomenological approaches all have their various applications. However, it is imperative to build bridges between these levels of modeling.

PMP 2021 will focus on all the membrane processes that have pressure, electrical, thermal, and osmotic effects as driving force. These include, but are not limited to: microfiltration (MF), ultrafiltration (UF), nanofiltration (NF), reverse osmosis (RO), electrodialysis (ED), reverse electrodialysis (RED), membrane distillation (MD), forward osmosis (FO), pressure-retarded osmosis (PRO), and membrane capacitive deionization (MCDI).

List of topics

  • Ion sorption equilibrium and Donnan potential
  • Modeling the membrane-solution interface
  • Overlimiting current phenomena
  • Water transport in ion exchange membranes
  • Transport of multivalent ions
  • Electrokinetics
  • Polarization phenomena
  • Modeling fouling phenomena
  • Modeling pH effects
  • Transport of organics
  • Modeling membrane structure
  • Gas separation membranes

Organizing committee

Anthony Szymczyk (Université de Rennes 1, ISCR – UMR CNRS 6226, France), Conference chair
Patrick Loulergue (Université de Rennes 1, ISCR – UMR CNRS 6226, France)
Mohammed Lamine Ouinten (Université de Rennes 1, ISCR – UMR CNRS 6226, France)
Penglin Fan (Université de Rennes 1, ISCR – UMR CNRS 6226, France)
Michele Tedesco (Wetsus, The Netherlands)

Scientific committee

Anthony Szymczyk (Université de Rennes 1, France)
Michele Tedesco (Wetsus, The Netherlands)
Jacopo Catalano (Aachus University, Denmark)
Maarten Biesheuvel (Wetsus, The Netherlands)
Ali Mani (Stanford University, USA)
Aaron Thornton (CSIRO, Australia)
Kyle Smith (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
Semyon Mareev (Kuban State University, Russia)
Ilya Ryzhkov (Institute of Computational Modelling SB RAS, Russia)
Menachem Elimelech (Yale University, USA)
Martin Z. Bazant (MIT, USA)